Real name: Kang Ji-hyun
Date of birth: February 12, 1992
Height: 168 cm
Associated group: SISTAR
Debut: Through SISTAR in 2010


Soyou originally was a trainee under Cube Entertainment. She failed to make the final cut of Cube's representative girl group, 4minute. Instead, she was put into Starship Entertainment's group SISTAR. The group debuted in 2010 with the song "Push Push".

Soyou slowly started releasing singles on her own, mainly for drama soundtracks. It was in the year 2014 that she struck music gold. She released "Some" with Junggigo and the song shot up the music charts. It was considered THE song of 2014, creating a new trending word and relationship category of "Some". This refers to a boy and a girl that aren't quite friends or lovers. They are in the ambiguous middle, gray area somewhere in between.

Soyou then was considered to have the Midas' touch. Any song she collaborated on was successful. She teamed up with many artists like Mad Clown, 10cm, Urban Zakapa, Baekhyun of EXO, Henry, etc.

Now Soyou is considered her own separate and successful entity outside of SISTAR. Her signature soft, husky, emotionally-moving voice adds that je ne sais quoi to bring each song to life.


-Should I Confess (soundtrack single for "Playful Kiss", September 17, 2010)

-re;code Episode 1 (single, November 1, 2012): Officially Missing You, Too

-Starship Planet 2012 (single, November 29, 2012): White Love (with K.Will, Boyfriend's Jeong-min)

-Stupid In Love (with Mad Clown) (single, September 10, 2013)

-Just Once (soundtrack single for "Ki Hwang-hoo", January 7, 2014)

-Some (with Junggigo) (single, February 7, 2014): Some (feat. Lil Boi of Geeks), Blind

-Space Between (with Kwon Soon-il, Park Yong-in) (single, September 26, 2014)

-Diamond (soundtrack single for "Snow Queen 2: Troll's Magical Mirror", December 10, 2014)

-No Mercy Part 2 (single, January 15, 2015): Pillow (with Giriboy, Kihyun)

-Lean On Me (with Kwon Jung-yeol) (single, September 22, 2015)

-Maybe You Don't Know (soundtrack single for "She Was Pretty", October 14, 2015)

-Tell Me (soundtrack single for "Lucky Romance", June 3, 2016)

-No Sleep (soundtrack single for "Moonlight Drawn By Clouds", August 23, 2016)

-Runnin' (with Henry) (single, October 14, 2016)

-I Miss You (soundtrack single for "Goblin", December 31, 2016)

-Rain (with Baekhyun) (single, February 14, 2017)

-Perfect (with Letter Flow) (single, March 23, 2017)