The central government will cultivate Seoul, Jeju and ten other regional governments as the hubs of smart city platforms. 

The Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport said on Wednesday that it has designated 12 local autonomous entities as the breeding sites for smart city platform projects for this year. 

Launched as a state-funded research and development project, Smart City Platform project seeks to upgrade urban information-related infrastructure, such as security and transportation, using state-of-the-art information and communications technology(ICT), such as artificial intelligence and the Internet-of-Things.

The other regional beneficiaries are the cities of Yongin, Namyangju, Cheongju, Seosan, Naju, Pohang, and Gyeongsan, Gochang County in North Jeolla Province, as well as Mapo and Seocho Districts in Seoul.